Hot Shit - YouTube & Soundcloud Channels


You’ve probably noticed that we haven’t been posting much on the site lately. We’re just going through some restructuring right now and that is the reason for the hiatus. If you are interested in writing for Hot Shit, we’d love to hear from you via our Contact page. In the meantime, we aren’t leaving you music lovers dry; head over to our YouTube Channel to watch the latest music videos we deem worthy, or to our Soundcloud Likes page to check out our new favourite tracks, as we’ll be updating both lists daily. The site should be back up and running later this summer. Thank you for sticking around with us!

Washed Out - It Feels All Right

It’s getting warmer outside/It feels all right

Call your friends I’ll call mine/Sun is coming out now/It feels all right

Washed Out aka Ernest Greene has released a lyric video for “It Feels All Right,” one of the most lyrically appropriate songs for summer. This single is a track off the forthcoming album Paracosm, which promises a different audial experience from your familiar Washed Out. Instead of synth-y electronic, Ernest Greene goes for a layered sound featuring the sitar/guitar/other-stringed instruments. Sing along or phase out to the psychedelic collage of flowers below, and stay tuned for the album’s release on August 13th via Sub Pop.

Elliphant - Music Is Life


"Music Is Life" is the first single to surface from the forthcoming debut album by Sweden’s Elliphant. The album was produced by the red-hot team behind the Icona Pop and Niki and the Dove albums at Ten Music, so needless to say, expectations are high. If it’s anything like this very summery single, recorded with Jamaica’s Ras Fraser Junior, we are all in for a treat.

Tycho - Ascension (official video)

Are you guys into sexy, ambient electronic music that drips into your ears and floats through your brain? Or maybe sexy, scantily clad women wandering through the desert and psychedelic photo glares? Whatever floats your boat, San Fran artist Tycho (aka Scott Hansen) has got a new video for an old song to satisfy those late night drives. Watch the Charles Bergquist-directed video below for “Ascension,” a track off his 2011 full-length Dive, available via Ghostly International.

Bonus: Also check out his remix of Ulrich Schnauss' “I Take Comfort in Your Ignorance” as well below.

Album Art
  • Daft Punk - Get Lucky (feat. Pharrell Williams) (radio edit)
  • "We’re up all night to get lucky." Random Access Memories drops on May 21st via Columbia Records.

Portugal. The Man - Purple Yellow Red and Blue

Portugal. The Man is rampin’ up their sound in lieu of their forthcoming Danger Mouse-produced album Evil Friends, to be released on June 4th via Atlantic Records. Listen to their lately released, gloriously upbeat and sassy single “Purple Yellow Red and Blue” below.

Empire of the Sun - Alive


After an epic enigmatic album trailer and weeks of teasing, Empire of the Sun finally gave us “Alive,” the anthemic first taste of their upcoming second album Ice On The Dune. The new single, which you can get now as a free download on iTunes when you pre-order the second full-length, is a stadium-sized, joyous tribute to the power of love, driven by Nick Littlemore’s hallmark gushing synths and Luke Steele’s mystic, falsetto vocals. “Alive” hints that the duo have returned with the new album after three years to make the soundtrack to the summer of 2013 with their still-intact talent for making euphoric, full-power synth-pop music and we have no objection to that. Ice On The Dune is due out June 18th via Astralwerks. Listen to first single “Alive” below.

Annie Mac presents: Foals Mini Mix


Treat yourselves to a 5-minute classic disco/house extravaganza delivered by Foals keyboardist Edwin Congreave for the Mini Mix segment of Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 show. You can check out the tracklisting below and download the mix on SoundCloud.


01. The Good Men - Give It Up
02. Kindness - Gee Up (Cosmic Kids edit)
03. Edwin Birdsong - Cola Bottle Baby
04. Chaz Jankel - Glad to Know You (Todd Terje re-edit)
05. XXXY - Fela!
06. Michael Jackson - Get On the Floor
07. !!! - Me and Giuliani Down by the School Yard
08. Chic - I Want Your Love (Boris Werner edit)
09. Ce Ce Rogers - Someday
10. Kolsch - Der Alte
11. Fleetwood Mac - Dreams
12. Foals - Out of the Woods
13. Metronomy - The Look (Fred Falke remix)

HUMANS - Wicked Games (feat. Tristan Orchard) (Official Video)


If you like electonically inclined indie dance music, then be sure to listen to HUMANS. Based in East Vancouver, mighty talented friends Robbie Slade (lead vocals, guitar, synthesizer, sampler) and Peter Ricq (synthesizer/sampler, groovebox, vocoder, backup vocals) are a self-described “dynamic live indie electronic pop act in the vein of LCD Soundsystem, Jamie xx and Junior Boys.” I’ve only just recently listened to (and loved!) them for the first time when I came across the incredibly sensual(!) new video for their electronic re-interpretation of Chris Isaak's 1989 classic “Wicked Game,” but HUMANS are hardly a new band with four critically acclaimed EPs from 2010 to 2013, sold out tours and an upcoming debut LP, slated for 2014 via Hybridity, under their belt. Besides their cleverly produced anthemic danceable indie-pop music, Vancouver duo also offers an outstanding visual side that is absolutely entertaining to watch. Outside of music, Ricq is a producer, designer, writer, illustrator and director and together with Slade, they throw each creative element of their expertise to make the all-round powerful force that is HUMANS.

Watch them reinvent music-video-sexiness in the video for “Wicked Games” and redefine friendship in the fantastic video for “Possession” below. Also listen to their synthy, atmospheric take on Bruce Springsteen's “Streets of Philadelphia.” If you still just can't get enough of these guys, check out the new video for “Runnin,” the vocal-infused dancefloor burner by Ricq's side project Gang Signs. Enjoy!

Say Lou Lou - Julian


The Australian/Swedish sister duo Say Lou Lou,who previously mesmerized us with their debut single “Maybe You,” are back with a brand new one titled “Julian.” They are unleashing the single on May 6th through their newly formed label À Deux, and it will be bundled with remixes from Dan Lissvik, Martin Dubka, Monsieur Adi and Checan. Stream the track below.