Alpine - Gasoline (official video)

"Gasoline" by Melbourne band Alpine gets a U.S. take on its music video and it is decidedly more cheerful than the original version. The groovy indie pop track is set to a fantastically edited and choreographed pastel-colored video which was directed by Emma Tomelty. Marvel at graceful and muscled human bodies bustin’ some impossible moves below and stay tuned for the North American release of A is for Alpine on May 21st via Votiv Records.

Empire of the Sun - Alive (official video)

Empire of the Sun have finally unveiled their video for “Alive” after teasing us with the track’s audio a couple of weeks ago. The song stems from their forthcoming sophomore album, due out on June 18th via Astralwerks. Watch it below.

Flume - More Than You Thought

Aussie DJ/producer Flume is garnering quite the following for his debut album, released last year via Future Classic, and now his sounds are finally paired with images. This hip hop beat infused track gets some sweet, trippy graphics that are worth full-screening for in this music video directed by Toby & Pete. Yeah, I actually have no idea why the whole floating lady in a cape thing, but it sure looks darn cool. See what I’m talking about below!

Empire of the Sun - Alive


After an epic enigmatic album trailer and weeks of teasing, Empire of the Sun finally gave us “Alive,” the anthemic first taste of their upcoming second album Ice On The Dune. The new single, which you can get now as a free download on iTunes when you pre-order the second full-length, is a stadium-sized, joyous tribute to the power of love, driven by Nick Littlemore’s hallmark gushing synths and Luke Steele’s mystic, falsetto vocals. “Alive” hints that the duo have returned with the new album after three years to make the soundtrack to the summer of 2013 with their still-intact talent for making euphoric, full-power synth-pop music and we have no objection to that. Ice On The Dune is due out June 18th via Astralwerks. Listen to first single “Alive” below.

Say Lou Lou - Julian


The Australian/Swedish sister duo Say Lou Lou,who previously mesmerized us with their debut single “Maybe You,” are back with a brand new one titled “Julian.” They are unleashing the single on May 6th through their newly formed label À Deux, and it will be bundled with remixes from Dan Lissvik, Martin Dubka, Monsieur Adi and Checan. Stream the track below.

Owl Eyes - Closure

Melbourne pop star Brooke Addamo, who goes by her moniker Owl Eyes, has just shared a second track—we posted the first one, “Love Run Dry,” last September—from her forthcoming debut album Nightswim. The new song is a ballad called “Closure” that, at times, gives off a Sally Shapiro-ish kind of vibe (read: Italo-disco). We dig! Nightswim gets released on April 19th via Illusive Sounds/Wunderkind.

Empire of the Sun - Ice on the Dune (trailer)


Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore, of eccentric Australian dance-pop duo Empire of the Sun, have reunited for their long-awaited sophomore album Ice on the Dune and to tease us, they’ve released a trailer filmed and produced by Bad Robot Productions. If the name sounds familiar, it’s because that film and production company is owned by none other than J. J. Abrams. The full-length is due out in June, via Astralwerks. Are you as excited as we are?

Brightly - Preflight Nerves (interactive video)


I love how innovative Melbourne-based folk/indie pop trio Brightly are. I’ve just recently heard them when I came across the super-creative video for their debut single “Preflight Nerves.” The clever video fetches live-tweets that sing out the lyrics of the song with some stylish, vintage footage running in the background. Later, I found out about the band’s “The Beginnings & Endings Project,” which gets its name from their debut longplayer. It’s a collaborative interactive world map, uniquely designed by the band to make sharing their debut album easy, fun and free for their fans.

“Share your code, make ten connections and our debut album is yours for free,” lead vocalist Charlie Gleason explains. There’s a quite simple logic behind it. First, you sign up to get a unique code from the website for the price of entering two simple information: Your email, and the city you live in. You also receive a free download of debut single “Preflight Nerves.” Second, you share your code with friends. Third, if ten of your connections sign up with your code (and you can track how far the music you’ve shared has reached in kilometers from the map), you get a free copy of Brightly’s debut album Beginnings & Endings (due out April 1st). Easy as that.

You can watch the interactive video at and join the project on this link. We’ve also embedded a non-interactive YouTube version of the video below (for those who can’t watch it mobile or because of a browser problem) which still gives an idea about how the video works. Enjoy.

RüFüS - Take Me

Sydney-based band RüFüS have just given us a video for the first single from their forthcoming debut album Atlas, due out later this year via Aussie label Sweat It Out. The summery track is the perfect way to start off any weekend, and it’s a detail that did not escape the ears of director Katzki. Press play to watch, then kick back and relax.

All The Colours - Second To None


Almost a year after their stellar debut single “Love Like This,” Melbourne’s All The Colours (Miami Horror vocalist Josh Moriarty’s progressive-vintage rock project) have come back with “Second To None,” which is the first single off their as yet unnamed and much anticipated debut album, and already one of my favourite singles of the year so far. In a recent interview with AussieWord, Moriarty said the second single is due out soon and added, “Working on the new Miami Horror album myself at the moment, I think that’s gonna turn out nicely. It’s still a long way off though. Aaron and Ben from Miami Horror have a new project called Honeymoon, check it out if you get a chance, it’s awesome.” We did check out Honeymoon, they’re awesome indeed. We’re even adding “Hail The Madmen,” the brand new and very first release off their forthcoming debut to this post for your listening pleasure, although it very much deserves it’s own post with all its infectious disco melodies.

We’re sooo excited for all three forthcoming All The Colours, Miami Horror and Honeymoon albums, it’s almost too much for our young hearts. :) Guy Franklin-directed visuals for “Second To None” are not any less seductive and stunning than the song itself. Watch the video and listen to Honeymoon’s “Hail The Madmen” below, again, and again, and again.